Saarbruecken

Our group is part of the Saarland University, located in Saarbrücken, Germany. Saarbrücken is a major city of the SaarLorLux region, and capital of the German state of Saarland. It has become a renowned centre of science, hosting several universities and research institutes and facilities (the Saarland University, the University of Applied Sciences, two Max Planck Institutes - just to name a few), giving it the flavor of a typical university and research town.

More information about the city can be found at the city's official website (also in French, and German).

How to get here

By train:

Saarbrücken is connected to the Deutsche Bahn's (German Railways) ICE and IC/EC high-speed network. Saarbrücken Central Station [Saarbrücken Hbf - Hauptbahnhof] runs several daily services to Paris and Frankfurt (less than 2 hours long), and to other cities in eastern France (Metz, Strasbourg, Nancy), western/southern Germany (Kaiserslautern, Trier, Mainz, Mannheim, Karlsruhe), and Luxembourg.

For more information see the Deutsche Bahn website.

By plane:

  • The Saarbrücken-Ensheim Airport (SCN) is about 15 km / 9 mi from the city center. From there the city center can be reached by local bus (the R 10 line) or simply by taxi.
  • The Frankfurt Airport (FRA) (the biggest airport in Germany, located in Frankfurt am Main), is about 170 km / 105 mi from Saarbrücken. Using public transportation, it is a direct trip (approx. 2 hours) by train from the Frankfurt Airport Regional Station [Frankfurt (Main) Flughafen Regionalbahnhof] to the Saarbrücken Central Station.
  • The Luxembourg Findel Airport (LUX) is about 100 km / 62 mi from Saarbrücken. It is possible to reach Saarbrücken via Luxembourg's Central Station [Luxembourg Gare Centrale], which can be reached by a frequent 25-minute bus ride. Then there are several trains serving Saarbrücken, although at the moment the most convenient way is to take a bus: a 1h 15min direct trip to Saarbrücken Hbf.
  • Paris two major airports, Roissy/Charles de Gaulle (CDG) and Orly (ORY), are well connected to the Parisian public transport network by metro and bus (more information can be found in the Airports of Paris website). It is possible to reach Paris Est/Gare de l'Est, the SNCF train station where the trains to/from Saarbrücken depart/arrive, in approx. one hour. Then it is a two-hour straight trip by train.
  • The Frankfurt-Hahn Airport (HNN) is about 110 km / 69 mi from Saarbrücken. Using public transportation, currently it is only possible to reach Saarbrücken from there taking a service bus to a nearby city (Trier, Idar-Oberstein or Mannheim) and then catching a train to the Saarbrücken Central Station. More information here.
Universitaet des Saarlandes

Local transportation - How to get to the university

The city of Saarbrücken is served by a comprehensive network of public transportation. If you are trying to reach the main campus of Saarland University, you can do so by local bus. The three bus stops (Haltestelle) on campus are Universität Campus, Universität Mensa, and Universität busterminal.
  • If you are coming from Saarbrücken Central Station, you can take the buses 102, 112 and 124 from the Saarbrücken Hbf bus stop.
  • If you are coming from University Guest Houses on the East part of town (on Hasseler Weg or Kaiserslauterner Straße), you can take the line 136 from the bus stops Stadion Kieselhumes or Zweibrücker Straße.
  • If you are coming from the University Guest Houses or the hotels in the city center, you can take the buses 101, 102, 109, 111 (typically from the bus stops Johanneskirche and Haus der Zukunft), and 112, 124 (from Haus der Zukunft).
  • If you are coming from the Dudweiler area, you can take the buses 101, 102, 136, 138 and 163 - typically from the Hermann Löns Straße bus stop.
Gebaeude E26
Here you can download a map of the city with further information (~5Mb). Here you can check the bus schedule and get further information on the SaarBahn&Bus serving Saarbrücken. Here you can download a complete map with all the SaarBahn&Bus lines (~10Mb). If you have trouble downloading this file, please try also downloading the Liniennetz-Plan file here.

How to find us!

Our offices are located in the East area of the main (Saarbrücker) campus (buildings E2), more precisely in the E2.6 building (Gebäude E2.6). Here you can find an interactive map (Interaktiver Lageplan des Saarbrücker Campus) of the university campus, and here you can download a map with further indications to reach us.

Saarbruecken

Unsere Gruppe gehört zur Universität des Saarlandes, in Saarbrücken, Deutschland. Saarbrücken ist eine Großstadt der SaarLorLux-Region, und die Hauptstadt des Saarlandes. Saarbrücken hat sich zu einem renommierten Wissenschaftszentrum entwickelt, beherbergt es doch mehrere Universitäten, Forschunginstitute und -einrichtungen (die Universität des Saarlandes, die Fachhochschule und zwei Max Planck Institute, um nur einige zu nennen), was der Stadt die Note einer typischen Universitäts- und Forschungsstadt verleiht.

Mehr Informationen über die Stadt können auf der offiziellen Website der Stadt gefunden werden (auch in Französisch, und Englisch).

Anreise

Mit dem Zug:

Saarbrücken ist an das ICE und IC/EC Hochigeschwindigkeitsnetz der Deutsche Bahn angeschlossen. Von Saarbrücken Hbf aus gehen mehrmals täglich Züge nach Paris und Frankfurt (in weniger als 2 Stunden erreichbar), nach Ostfrankreich (Metz, Straßburg, Nancy), nach Südwestdeutschland (Kaiserslautern, Trier, Mainz, Mannheim, Karlsruhe) und nach Luxemburg.

Zusätzliche Information finden Sie auf der Website der Deutschen Bahn.

Mit dem Flugzeug:

  • Der Flughafen Saarbrücken-Ensheim (SCN) ist etwa 15 km vom Stadtzentrum entfernt, das mit der Buslinie R 10 oder einfach per Taxi erreicht werden kann.
  • Der Flughafen Frankfurt (FRA) (Deutschlands größter Flughafen, in Frankfurt am Main), ist etwa 170 km von Saarbrücken entfernt. Benutzt man die öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, so gibt es eine Direktverbindung mit dem Zug (ca. 2 Stunden) vom Bahnhof Frankfurt Flughafen [Frankfurt (Main) Flughafen Regionalbahnhof] zum Saarbrücker Hauptbahnhof.
  • Der Flughafen Luxemburg Findel (LUX) ist etwa 100 km von Saarbrücken entfernt. Es ist möglich Saarbrücken über den Luxemburg Hauptbahnhof [Luxembourg Gare Centrale] zu erreichen. Dieser kann regelmäßig nach 25 minütiger Busfahrt erreicht werden. Von dort aus gehen mehrere Züge nach Saarbrücken, jedoch ist es im Moment empfehlenswerter den Bus nehmen. Saarbrücken Hauptbahnhof ist mit einer 75 minütiger Verbindung erreichbar.
  • Von den zwei Pariser Hauptflughafen, Roissy/Charles de Gaulle (CDG) und Orly (ORY), existiert über Metro und Bus eine gute Anbindung (1h) zum Paris Est/Gare de l'Est (mehr Information hierzu auf der Website der Pariser Flughafen). Vom Gare de l'Est aus bietet die SNCF eine Direktverbindung nach Saarbrücken an (ca. 2 Stunden Fahrzeit).
  • Der Flughafen Frankfurt-Hahn (HNN) ist etwa 110 km von Saarbrücken entfernt. Unter Benutzung öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel ist Saarbrücken momentan nur über eine Busverbindung in eine nahe Stadt (Trier, Idar-Oberstein oder Mannheim), von der aus der Saarbrücken Hauptbahnhof mit den Zug angefahren wird, zu erreichen. Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen.
Universitaet des Saarlandes

Nahverkehr - Verkehrsanbindung zur Universität

Die Stadt Saarbrücken hat ein flächendeckendes Nahverkehrsnetz. Sie können den Hauptcampus der Universität mit dem Bus erreichen. Die drei Haltestellen auf dem Campus heiße: Universität Campus, Universität Mensa und Universität Busterminal.
  • Von Saarbrücken Hauptbahnhof aus fahren die Busse 102, 112 und 124 den Campus an.
  • Von Gästehaus der Universität im östlichen Teil der Stadt (Hasseler Weg oder Kaiserslauterner Straße), fährt die Linie 136 den Campus an. Nahe Haltestellen sind Stadion Kieselhumes oder Zweibrücker Straße.
  • Vom Gästehaus oder Hotels im Stadtzentrum fahren die Linien 101, 102, 109, 111 (typischerweise ab Haltestelle Johanneskirche und Haus der Zukunft), und die Linie 112 und 124 (von Haus der Zukunft aus) den Campus an.
  • Vom Bereich Dudweiler aus fahren die Linien 101, 102, 136, 138 und 163 - typischerweise von der Haltestelle Hermann Löns Straße aus.
Gebaeude E26
Hier können Sie eine Stadtkarte mit weiteren Informationen herunterladen (~5Mb). Hier können Sie den Busfahrplan ansehen und weitere Informationen über den SaarBahn&Bus-Dienst Saarbrücken erhalten. Hier können Sie eine komplette Karte mit allen Bus- und Saarbahn-Linien herunterladen (~10Mb). Falls Sie Probleme damit haben die Daten herunterzuladen, bitte versuchen Sie hier den Liniennetz-Plan hier herunterzuladen.

Wie Sie uns finden

Unsere Büros befinden sich im Ostteil des Saarbrücker Hauptcampus (Gebäude E2), genauer gesagt in Gebäude E2.6. Hier finden Sie einen interaktiven Lageplan des Saarbrücker Campus und hier können Sie eine Karte mit näheren Informationen, wie Sie uns erreichen können, herunterladen.